Association Awards

Men’s Awards

Updegraff Award

The Updegraff Award is given annually to a person who, “By his or her actions and accomplishments exemplify the Spirit of the Game.”

Past Winners

Champion of Golf Award

The Champion of Golf Award is given annually to a person “who by his or her accomplishments has unselfishly created lasting benefit to the Game of Golf in Arizona.

Past Winners

Doc Graves Volunteer of the Year Award

The Doc Graves Award is presented by AGA staff annually to a person whose volunteer hours and contributions have creating lasting benefit to the AGA and its members.

Past Winners

Honorary Captain Award

Ever since the dawn of the Rules of Golf in 1744 clubs have selected Captains to oversee the Rules and Competitions during a given year. At the suggestion of AGA and Gallery Golf Club member Charlie Horn, the AGA inaugurated the Honorary Captain Award in 2013 to recognize those with dedicated Rules Official service to the AGA and its Championships.

Past Winners

Women’s Awards

Dorothy Pease Achievement Award

The Dorothy Pease Achievement Award is named for a woman who had a profound and lasting impact on women’s golf in Arizona. A leader in women’s golf for over 50 years, Dorothy founded the Arizona Junior Girls Championship and the Arizona Senior Women’s Championship, published a national women’s golf magazine and is credited with helping launch the women’s golf program at ASU.

Past Winners

Representative of the Year

Each year, Women’s Club Presidents nominate their Representative to be the “Representative of the Year.”

Past Winners

Kathy Ehrlich Volunteer of the Year

Kathy Ehrlich, for whom this award was named, was a dedicated, energetic volunteer who served on the AWGA Board of Directors from 2004 to 2012 (President from 2009-2010) and on the AGA Executive Committee from 2012-2013. She was involved with numerous committees at the state and national levels as well.

Past Winners